A New New Yorker

So I’ve been sitting here for the past couple weeks…literally. When they say school wares you down, that’s pretty true. I got sick over finals week and thought I was better…and then found out I had pneumonia. It’s probably not the most fun I’ve had. This summer hasn’t been very eventful…yet. I was excited today because I went out for the first time in the past 10 days. Although it was only to one clothing store and Starbucks (had to get some fuel, staying hydrated of course) it was a big step for me haha.

My past few summers I’ve been a bit bored. Not many places like to hire “college” students as I’ve learned. There’s probably dusty applications at 30 places from last summer sitting around in stores, salons and any place that hires. You name it, I went there.  It apparently isn’t worth hiring a college student because we leave at the end of the summer. Who knew higher education could actually ruin your chances of a job?! That was about the first thing I was asked every time I stepped in the door to hand someone over my application. So I’ve had my bout of babysitting. Then this year I started working at a Marketing firm by my college called Krative. Now, I’m actually a PR major but I learned over the past semester at my internship that I really enjoyed marketing. So that’s how we get to this story…

I found out a few weeks ago that I will be interning with the amazing company JetBlue. I’m going to be a Getaways marketing intern. The journey started when I drove down to NYC (probably not my best idea, the roads are HORRIBLE) for my 5 hour interview. After that it was fate, I got the job. You have no idea how excited I am to be working in NYC this summer (and a little nervous). When someone goes. “I took the L to the N to the”…yeah I have no idea what you’re talking about. I’m planning on getting lost a few times on the great subway systems of NYC. In just over a week I’ll be moving down to the grand city, the big apple, the greatest place on earth as some would call it. Now see, on my way home I see cows, pigs, and horses and very soon, I’ll be saying goodbye to my pretty little car and swapping our my scenery for some street vendors and Starbucks on every corner. I guess it’s not such a bad deal, is it? 🙂 I have a lot to learn this summer and I’ll be filling you in on every bit of my journey. But my first stop after I move in to my apartment? Orlando, FL. and that’s just the start of it. I’ll also be traveling to Salt Lake City, Utah and who knows where else! Did you know a flight to Bermuda is only 2 1/2 hours? Oh yeah, I looked that one up of course. I have so many experiences to come this summer and I am filled with joy, and soon I’ll be filled with a vendor hotdog (they look sketchy but you gotta try it once right?). 

So here starts the countdown…8 days to NYC!

2 thoughts on “A New New Yorker

  1. Pingback: Moving to cupoftia.wordpress.com | A Cup of Tia

Comments are closed.