Beer and French Fries!

I got a free sock…maybe I should start at the beginning. This weekend was the first time I went to the beautiful and vast Central Park. We walked all throughout it. From the lone turtle crossing the path, to the 10k runners to the paddle boaters the park was buzzing. It was so beautiful to walk through and a place I will be frequenting. It’s a wonderful place to go and relax or exercise your heart out. I thoroughly enjoyed the Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis Reservoir and the view on top of Belvedere Castle. As I was walking along a man was handing out a free sock. It’s partner was at a Northface store along Broadway. I’m starting to realize there are many free surprises around NYC. I regret to say my lone sock is still lonely but if anyone would like to relieve it and find its partner I will happily pass it over to you.

Then it was off to a hike down Manhattan (or mostly a subway ride). My stomach was grumbling from our long walk around Central Park. I heard from a very reliable New Yorker Pommes Frites was the french fry place to go. We got off and found our way to the small restaurant containing delicious smells of frying potatoes. On the board read around 30 dipping sauces and after that I was sold. I tried the Vietnamese pineapple mayo with a mound of french fries. We took a seat and the fries were delivered to you piping hot. The tables even had holes to hold your cone of french fries. It was definitely a very cool place to check out and the best french fries I ever had!

Later on for dinner I had heard about Earl’s Beer and Cheese. I took a look online at their small menu and my mouth started watering. I love restaurants that have smaller menus because you know they’re good at what they do. We walked in and ordered at the bar from the nicest bartender I have met in this city. Unfortunately, the two seats at the bar were taken so we took a seat with our craft beers he recommended to us at the long table that went throughout the restaurant. The place had a very cool atmosphere decorated with deer and feelings of the country. This place is definitely a one-of-a-kind hole in the wall. I ordered the spicy tomato soup that came out in a crock on a bread board. It was the most flavorful tomato soup I ever had. I also tried their mac and cheese which rosemary and goat cheese which was so creamy and just yum. It is definitely a place to go if you’re looking for a cool atmosphere.

The next day it was off to more adventures in the city to visit The High Line, which is a public park built on a freight rail line elevated over Manhattan. It was a short walk but the views were impeccable. You were able to see so much of the city and I even met a muse along the way. There was also some interesting artwork along the walkway. Definitely a sight to see.

Of course in NYC there are many foods to try so my friend and I headed over to the buzzing Big Apple BBQ. On our way we walked through Bryant Park which is a great place to relax and find more young people. I noticed they even have a schedule of a free film festival throughout the summer with a list that looks like it’s worth going to. http://www.bryantpark.org/plan-your-visit/filmfestival.html. After a relaxing stop at Bryant Park we were back to our original plan. It wasn’t hard to find the BBQ as you could follow the smells of smoke wafting through the air. It was a fun festival with bands and so many BBQ places you didn’t even know which one to choose from! The lines were very long so we decided to relieve our hunger elsewhere. On our way back to the Upper East Side we stopped at the Shake Shack, a burger stand I’ve been hearing all about in NYC. I ordered a shack burger and peanut butter milkshake and took a seat. After a quick few minutes my buzzer started shaking and I headed up to the counter to retrieve my succulent burger. The Shake Shack was a fun place to stop at. Whenever you’re looking for an american classic done right head over there.

This weekend was filled with a ton of great places and next will be filled with even more! Work starts in one day and although I am so excited to start my new internship I am a bit sad I won’t get as much time to explore this wonderful city, but don’t worry I’ll make sure I find the time to do it 🙂

Central Park Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis Reservoir

Central Park Reservoir

View from Belvedere Castle

Belvedere Castle

Pommes Frites

Pommes Frites Fries YUM!

Earl’s Beer and Cheese

The High Line

Bryant Park

Big Apple BBQ

The Shake Shack

Shake Shack Burger

One thought on “Beer and French Fries!

  1. Pingback: Grilled Cheese Goodness at Heywood | A Caffeinated Brunette

Comments are closed.