Kitchen Little: Mystic, CT

            I was off to Mystic and searching endlessly on Yelp and other sites to find something different for breakfast than the usual places we go to. I picked a place that sounded like a winner and we headed out of the town of Mystic through neighborhoods. I was getting a bit skeptical that we were lost after we passed one neighborhood after another until we got to Kitchen Little at the Mystic River Marina.

            I knew it was a winner from the start. Kitchen Little looked like a rustic place right on the water. As you are having breakfast you can watch the boats and enjoy a nice breakfast with a great view. I sat down to the large breakfast menu and contemplated what I was going to have. My eyes met some delicious offerings of all different eggs and Benedict with crab and tons of other toppings. I then saw the Portuguese Fisherman, the dish they are most known for and had to order it.

          The Portuguese Fisherman has spicy hot chourico and linguica from Fall River, scrambled together with eggs; peppers, onions and jalapeno cheese in a lightly spiced sauce served with a Portuguese egg muffin. My breakfast came out to me piping hot with a good helping on my plate. As I took the first bite, it was heaven in my mouth. I also enjoyed placing the scramble on my Portuguese muffin and eating it as an egg sandwich.

If you’re off to Mystic and are looking for a great experience, Kitchen Little is the place to go. It’s off the beaten path away from the tourist restaurants. It has a great charm to it with either indoor or outdoor seating both overlooking the water. You don’t just have to be a land-lover either; you can come by land or sea and dock at the Mystic River Marina for up to 3 hours when you dine at Kitchen Little. Definitely a must try!

Check them out here:
http://kitchenlittle.org

