Costa del Sol: Hartford, CT

One restaurant I have been going to for years is a Spanish restaurant in Hartford called Costa del Sol. Costa del Sol is a fun and festive dining experience. It’s a little dressier than your usual walk-off-the-street kind of restaurant so remember to dress nicely. The restaurant has been open since 1986 by a family from the Galicia region of Spain. It has a traditional menu that includes home-style dishes of beef, pork, chicken and seafood.

If you are looking for a real Spanish cuisine, this is the place to go. My family and I usually go at dinner because it is the only time they serve our favorite dish, the Parrillada (for two). The dish comes with a heaping of shrimp, clams, mussels, scallops, squid, fish and jumbo head-on shrimp. It is soooo delicious; my mouth is watering just writing about it. The seafood is grilled and has lots of garlic (just what I like) that makes it taste oh so good.

This isn’t the only dish that is mouth-watering good. Everything I have tried from Costa del Sol is equally delicious. I recommend the Sopa de Pescado, a Mediterranean style fish and mussel soup and the Pulpo. Costa del Sol is in the south end of Hartford on 901 Wethersfield Avenue. 

