Red Coconut Curry

I love Indian curry and wanted to make my own. Unfortunately, it is sometimes hard to find the ingredients so I decided to make my own recipe. I changed around a Penang Curry recipe to a Red Curry recipe and it came out delicious.

 

Ingredients:  Serves 4-6.

  • 2 tbsp. oil
  • 2 tbsp. chopped garlic
  • 1 tsp. grated ginger
  • 4 tbsp. Red Curry Paste
  • 2 cans coconut milk
  • 1 1/2 tbsp. brown sugar
  • 2 tbsp. reduced sodium soy sauce
  • Juice of one lime
  • 1/4 cup roasted and unsalted cashews
  • 1 cup chopped mushrooms
  • 1 cup chopped white/yellow onion
  • 1 chopped red pepper
  • 6 Thai basil leaves
  • 6 broccoli florets
  • White Rice

Directions:

  1. In a wok or large fry pan (which is what I used), heat oil on medium heat.
  2. Once hot, add chopped ginger, garlic and chopped cashews and let cook until light brown.
  3. Stir in curry paste.
  4. Whisk in coconut milk, brown sugar, soy sauce, and lime juice and turn heat up to medium-high for 5 minutes. Add to taste.
  5. Add veggies and basil and let simmer for fifteen to twenty minutes.

Serve over rice and add chicken or tofu for some extra protein.

