Soft and Chewy Peanut Butter Cookies

I unfortunately have to say I don’t like chocolate, yes I know, I’m crazy (I’ve been told this many times). I also don’t like cake, cupcakes or many sweets. At birthday parties people would stare at me thinking I’d change my mind and tell them to throw a slab of cake on my plate but no. The one sweet I do enjoy and love is peanut butter cookies of each and every kind. These peanut butter cookies are great because they are soft and chewy and stay that way, you won’t be getting the next-day-hard-as-a-rock cookie with this recipe.

soft and chewy peanut butter cookies -a caffeinated brunette

What you will need:

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1 1/4 cups dark brown sugar, firmly packed
  • 1 1/4 cups white sugar
  • 1 cup salted butter, softened
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 2 tsp. pure vanilla extract

1. Preheat oven to 300 degrees.

soft and chewy peanut butter cookies -a caffeinated brunette

soft and chewy peanut butter cookies -a caffeinated brunettesoft and chewy peanut butter cookies -a caffeinated brunette

2. In a medium bowl, combine flour, soda and salt.Mix well with a wire whisk and set aside.soft and chewy peanut butter cookies -a caffeinated brunettesoft and chewy peanut butter cookies -a caffeinated brunette

3. In a large bowl, blend sugars using an electric mixer set at a medium speed. Add butter and mix to form a grainy paste, scraping the side of the bowl.soft and chewy peanut butter cookies -a caffeinated brunettesoft and chewy peanut butter cookies -a caffeinated brunette

4. Add eggs, peanut butter and vanilla, and mix at medium speed until light and fluffy.soft and chewy peanut butter cookies -a caffeinated brunette

5. Add the flour mixture and mix at low speed until just mixed. Do not over mix.Β soft and chewy peanut butter cookies -a caffeinated brunettesoft and chewy peanut butter cookies -a caffeinated brunette

6. Drop by rounded tablespoons onto an ungreased cookie sheet, 1 1/2 inches apart.
soft and chewy peanut butter cookies -a caffeinated brunette

7. With a wet fork, gently press a crisscross pattern on top of cookies.

8. Bake for 18-22 minutes until cookies are slightly brown along the edges.Β 

soft and chewy peanut butter cookies -a caffeinated brunettesoft and chewy peanut butter cookies -a caffeinated brunetteEnjoy! You can also add Hershey kisses as shown above for those chocolate lovers (mine of course, were plain).

21 thoughts on “Soft and Chewy Peanut Butter Cookies

  1. Pingback: Soft and Chewy Peanut Butter Cookies « RobertLopez144's Blog

  2. I’m not a fan of sweets either. I can do cupcakes but without frosting. I thoroughly enjoy sweets that have a perfect balance for example a cheesecake that is not too sweet or too tart. Yum.

  3. Are they really soft and chewy? I made some great tasting peanut butter cookies last week (yep – another who is not a huge fan of sweets) but they became crunchy almost immediately. I love soft cookies (and made some soft ginger ones over the holiday).

  4. I am so glad you stopped by my blog today (Thank you!), so that I could find your beautiful foodie blog and this recipe in particular. I have wanted to make some cookies and was thinking about peanut butter. Most recipes make them crunchy, but I love them soft and chewy. Great timing:)

  5. Not mad on sweets or cake myself but chocolate! That’s another story altogether, I guess if I didn’t like that I wouldn’t be blogging about trying to lose weight lol. Think I may have to try these, but maybe see if I can get the calories down a bit or I’ll never get those pesky pounds off πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.