New Year’s Bucket List

What you should have on your new year's bucket list 2013 -a caffeinated brunetteOk my lovely readers; here it is, the New Year’s Eve post. I know you’ve been reading ample volumes of New Year’s resolutions by now and in all honesty, I think they’re bologna. People write down their New Year’s resolutions on the days leading up to the countdown to midnight while hoping to get their famous yearly kiss and then it starts: They work on their resolutions hard the first week, the next week maybe, third not so much and then it ends up falling through the cracks with everything else into nothing. Yes, I want to be fit for summer, spend more time with family and friends and enjoy life more just like everyone else but I like to make a list that’s more meaningful to me. Each year I create a bucket list of food, places, and things I want to accomplish whether it be traveling, trying something new or just an awesome food I’ve never had before. We can all have our resolutions to go along with this list but resolutions should be done all year long, not just the first of the year.

I’m a huge believer of following your dreams and fulfilling your life to the fullest. Yes, you do need to have a job and work. If I didn’t, I wouldn’t be able to fund all of my foodie adventures. Unfortunately, money doesn’t grow on trees (although I’d love it to). But, please don’t come home and just sit on the couch watching something amazing on tv when you could be out doing it yourself or say next weekend we’ll do something. Don’t get me wrong, I’m a lover of movies and cuddling some cold winter nights but you always have time to go out and do something, to take a day trip, to try something new. This summer, I flew to the Bahamas for a night and it was completely amazing. All I ask is don’t hold yourself back this year, make a list and fulfill it.

Bucket List 2013

  • Find a job I love- This had to be #1 as graduation will be approaching in May!
  • Run a 5K marathon (planning on March 18th in NYC at the color run!)
  • Learn Italian- I learned French in college but Parlez-vous Francais? Oh no…
  • Learn how to ski
  • Go stargazing
  • Take up a new dance class (I’ve learned ballet, tap and jazz, I’m thinking salsa or tango this time)
  • Go on an unplanned road trip
  • Head off to Europe after graduation
  • Embarrass myself singing karaoke I did this at a work party this summer, It’s so embarrassing and so fun
  • Run through a field of Sunflowers (my favorite flowers)
  • Go on a picnic
  • Go kayaking
  • Hit a bullseye on a dart-board
  • Make the best meal ever
  • Try a very weird food
  • Go ziplining
  • Buy a dog
  • Go camping
  • Visit 5 new states
  • Head off to a new tropical island
  • Go ice skating
  • Go tubing down a river
  • Try something I would never see myself doing
  • Go horseback riding
  • Learn to surf

I keep this list throughout the year to remind myself of all the goals and things I want to accomplish and it feels so good to cross it off. So what is on your bucket list? What do you think I should try? I want to hear, maybe you’ll inspire me to add it onto my list 🙂

Happy New Years Kisses xx -Tia

83 thoughts on “New Year’s Bucket List

  1. Thanks Tia for sharing! So, how far are you in crossing out lines? I totally agree with you, that the first couple of weeks of the New Year are hard to survive when it comes to resolution-fulfillment. It seems to me, that the first top-of-the-list resolution is mostly the prerequisite for the following wish list. And that is: attitude check. You mentioned it, I found this to be true for myself in earlier days and still find it all around me. It is sad to see many people really suffering from this homemade problem.

    My resolution bucket is already half empty, as my lists have become smaller and smaller over the years. Build a wooden desk on top of washing machine and dryer – done. Buy new beds for the kids, as the old ones are out of size – done. Loose 5kg weight – lost 2kg so far. Tell the truth, be honest – this one is a repetitive resolution and will be kept through the year and be put on the next bucket.

    Hope you will have great success in graduating from college and finding a good job you love. Best regards from Germany! Stephan.

    • Thanks Stephan! My list is going pretty well 🙂 Crossing a few off the list but more will come after graduation! Yours are all great. I love telling the truth and being honest. 2 of the most important things to me!

  2. Great list! Totally agree about making it a year long endeavor. I find resolutions put on way too much pressure. And this way, you can enjoy all year round! Best of luck on graduation and getting that awesome feeling after ticking something off!

  3. I really like your blog, and what a super idea to have a bucket list for each year. Not quite sure what’s going to be on mine just yet but definitely seeking some sunshine, to hook up with some rediscovered friends, go to the movies more often, and take a dance class. I love a dance class.

  4. Pingback: This Year’s Love « Dog Days are Over

  5. Pingback: New Year’s Bucket List « Royal TKO Media CEO Blog

  6. I agree with you! Back in December, i wrote something similar to this.. i did not include my bucket list, but my thoughts were similar to yours. You can see them here … http://52weekstochangemylife.wordpress.com/2012/12/30/new-years-resolutions/

    Your list is reasonable! Not resolutions but some things you seem to have a passion about that will be long term.. travel (things to do and places to see), cooking, owning a pet. I hope you can accomplish those.. because otherwise, what the heck are we here for right! ( I have another post about that!) LOL .. enjoy!

  7. Great post! I agree that a bucket list is better idea than New Years resolutions. I actually made my first bucket list this year. I only have a few so far, but they’re:

    • publish a book
    • learn to play the cello
    • backpack across Scotland
    • climb Mt Kilimanjaro
    • go surfing
    • have tea with the queen of England

  8. I enjoyed reading this post and wondered if you were interested in submitting a post to a new event called Our Growing Edge.

    A growing edge is the part of us that is still learning and experimenting. It’s the part that you regularly grow and improve, be it from real passion or a conscious effort. The event aims to compile a monthly snapshot as to what bloggers are doing in terms of new challenges with food. This monthly event aims to connect and inspire us to try new things.

    I am currently accepting posts from January and February and I hope you can make it.

    More info can be found here: 
    http://bunnyeatsdesign.com/our-growing-edge
    or the link party here:
    http://www.inlinkz.com/wpview.php?id=233654

  9. Great looking blog you have here, girl! I’m trying to get a grasp on my own blog, but cannot even figure out how to upload pictures, etc. Did you do all this yourself or did some one help you with those technicalities?

Comments are closed.