Chicken Tortilla Soup

Mm I LOVE chicken tortilla soup…so I made some! Great story right?!Β I’ve never made it before so I did my own twist on the recipe and it came out delicious. Plus, it’s good for you! Lots of goodies in there πŸ™‚ Hope you enjoy!

Chicken Tortilla soup recipe -a caffeinated brunette
Chicken Tortilla soup recipe -a caffeinated brunette Chicken Tortilla soup recipe -a caffeinated brunette

What you will need:

  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 2 tablespoons minced garlic
  • 4 Cups low-sodium chicken broth
  • 1 chicken bouillon cube
  • 1-cup water
  • 1 (14.5 oz) can diced tomatoes with jalapeno
  • 1 (14.5 oz) can black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 2 limes, juiced, plus wedges for garnish
  • Dash of salt, pepper, garlic powder and Italian seasoning
  • 1-cup cilantro
  • 1 avocado, pitted and sliced
  • Few tortilla chips

How to make it:

  1. In a large saucepan heat the vegetable oil.
  2. Add the onions and cook for two minutes.
  3. Add the garlic and cook for another minute.
  4. Pour the chicken broth, cup of water, tomatoes, beans, bouillon cube and spices into the pot and bring to a boil.
  5. Once at a boil lower the heat to simmer and add your chicken breasts. Cook the chicken for 20 minutes.
  6. Once the chicken is fully cooked, remove from the pot. When cool enough to handle, shred the chicken and set it aside.
  7. Add the lime juice and fresh cilantro to the pot.
  8. In a serving bowl add a mount of shredded chicken. Ladle soup over chicken and top with lime wedge, tortilla chips, avocado slices and fresh salsa.
41 thoughts on “Chicken Tortilla Soup

  1. This sounds amazing. I make a new batch of soup every Sunday, this one is in the near future. Think a slow cooker would work for it?

  2. Pingback: w/ avocados!!!!!!!….. Chicken Tortilla Soup #readhere! « RobertLopez144's Blog

  3. This is such a creative dish. All the ingredients seems to be from everywhere but combined to create mouth watering flavor. How did you thought of it? Love it. Brilliant!

  4. Whoa! What an awesome recipe! Avocado has to be my all-time greatest, favorite fruit. I enjoy in in guacamole, sushi and even on its own (a squeeze of lemon, a dash of salt to boot and we’re good to go). But this? I’ve never thought to incorporate avocado in a soup with tortillas. Genius. Thanks for this. I’m going to try it out and see how it goes. Looks scrumptious, nonetheless! πŸ™‚

  5. One of the main things I MISS since I started trying to eat gluten free is corn chips and tortillas! I live in TX and was practically raised on Tex-Mex. I may just have to make this soup on a cheat day. It looks amazing!

  6. I absolutely love Chicken Tortilla soup. Fun fact: my mom always pronounced it tort-ill-ya, and I didn’t find out it was tort-ee-ya until I was 21.

    Anywhoo, great recipe! I’ll have to try it.

  7. Mmmm. My mouth is watering just looking at the pictures. I’ve made this kind of soup before but your recipe looks more delicious. I can’t wait to try it!!

Comments are closed.