Irish Soda Bread

Happy St. Patty’s Day!

I hope a few of you have the luck of the Irish in you today, or at least a green beer.

I fulfilled my St. Patty’s day shenanigans yesterday in New York while running around among a sea of green.

Fun Fact: One of my favorite things to do when the sun comes out and the grass turns back to green is sitting in the grass and finding four-leaf clovers.

Anyways, I loveee Irish soda bread. I can eat it for breakfast, a midnight snack or anytime. Just slab a bit of butter (I like popping it in the microwave for a few seconds) and popping it into my mouth. So good!

IMG_1735

IMG_1736

IMG_1737

Oh, and here’s the recipe you’ve been waiting for!

Irish Soda Bread

Ingredients:

  • 3 1/4 cup flour
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup butter softened
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • 1 1/3 cup buttermilk

Directions:

  1. Combine dry ingredients.
  2. Cut in butter until coarse crumbs.
  3. Stir in raisins and buttermilk mixing until just moistened.
  4. Shape into ball and knead 10 times.
  5. Place on greased sheet, cut 1/2 inch deep cross on top of bread.
  6. Bake 350 degrees for 45 minutes to an hour.
  7. Cool before slicing

Enjoy!

23 thoughts on “Irish Soda Bread

  1. What fun that you popped over to my space and are following along on my adventures in Europe — and just as fun to trail you back over here to your space! It’s always a pleasure finding fellow lovers of the food-coffee-travel trifecta. (:

  2. I’ve never thought of making it sweet and/or putting fruit in. It’s always been my staple at Sunday breakfast when I haven’t made any ‘proper’ bread. The soda bread is so quick and easy so it cooks alongside the bacon and eggs. I’m going to try your recipe soon.

Comments are closed.