Vietnamese Sandwiches

MM..mmm…I have all kinds of goodness today…in a sandwich.

This is not just any sandwich, it’s a delicious Vietnamese fusion sandwich that my friend Nick turned me on to.

vietnamese fusion sandwich - a caffeinated brunette

It’s great for lunch, brunch, dinner, linner, anything

vietnamese fusion sandwich - a caffeinated brunette



It’s a perfect fresh-tasting sandwich, packed with flavor that will knock your knickers off.

What you will need:

  • Chinese Char Siu Pork (You should be able to find the glaze in a Chinese grocery store or check out the recipe below)
  • French baguette
  • Cucumbers (sliced lengthwise)
  • Celery (thinkly sliced)
  • Cilantro

Char Siu Pork Marinade:

  • 1/2 teaspoon 5 spice powder
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 2 tablespoons sherry wine
  • 1 tablespoon hoisin sauce
  • 1 tablespoon thai chili sauce (optional)
  • 1 tablespoon Chinese dark soy sauce
  • 2 teaspoons oyster sauce
  • 2 cloves garlic, grated

Sauce to spread on the baguette:

  • Mayonnaise 
  • Hoisin Sauce

Mix mayonnaise and hoisin until it makes an orange paste. About 2 parts mayo to 1 part hoisin.

How to make:

1. Lightly toast the baguette for 3 minutes in a toaster oven.

2. Spread the sauce on the top and bottom of the baguette.

3. Place thin slices of Chinese Char Siu Pork on top.

4. Place cucumbers, celery and a heaping of cilantro.

Enjoy and thank you to Nick for the delicious recipe!

23 thoughts on “Vietnamese Sandwiches

  1. For the past few days I was thinking of roasting some char siu, and this provides me another idea of what to do with it afterwards.

  2. When I lived in Hell’s Kitchen, NY there were two Vietnamese restaurants within a couple of blocks of me. Needless to say, it became my favorite food. For years it became a regular dining experience and even a part of my wedding. In recent months I started cooking some of my favorite dishes and plan to explore more. I really enjoyed your post and looking at some of that yummy food. Enjoy every sandwich. Cheers

  3. Viets Rolls are awesome, they’re call Banh Mi in vietnamese, meanung bread, try putting asian roast pork inside, awesomeness. ..

  4. This could easily be the best meal in the world! I love recipes like these. I can almost taste Vietnam in your pictures. And somehow I am hungry now.

  5. This looks amazing! I might even get over my cilantro dislike with this sandwich…definitely going to be trying it out over the next few days…

Comments are closed.